Simulation and Artificial Intelligence in ECLS (SAIE)

EuroELSO and ESAO (European Society of Artificial Organs) aim to create a working group focused on simulation and artificial intelligence in ECLS.

The focus of this working group is in the development of an endorsed research area on computer modelling and simulation development of a well-functioning framework for the in silico ecosystem in extracorporeal life support.

The aim of the working group is to perform and report on newest development in the field of ECLS simulation, give recommendations, position papers about upcoming technologies and tools already available or appear on health technology market concerning the extracorporeal life support.

Further aims are to support the ongoing education and scientific exchange with active participation and group meetings on the annual EuroELSO and ESAO congresses bridging the gap between the scientific community and simulator developing manufactures. In addition, young scientist, engineers and clinicians will be included as part of the annual yESAO (young European Society of Artificial Organs) conference.

To achieve these aims the working group needs to gather experts from different specialties and fields. Current members of the group are intensivists, pediatric intensivists, cardiovascular surgeons, perfusionists, scientists, engineers and software developers from multiple European countries.

The working group membership is totally free and without any payment by sponsor industries. The WG is endorsed by EuroELSO and ESAO.

Obviously the “Simulation and Artificial Intelligence in ECLS Working Group” cannot reach important results without the active involvement and participation of other colleagues from other European ECMO centres, for that reason the WG is glad and honored to accept any suggestions for collaborations by other specialists.

Speakers of the Innovation Working Group

Justyna Swol MD PhD EuroELSO Representative,
Simon Sonntag PhD ESAO Representative,

To join the group please send an email and contact to

Members of the Innovation Working Group

  • Mirko Belliato, Pavia, Italy
  • Jordi Riera, Barcelona, Spain
  • Justyna Swol, Nürnberg, Germany
  • Leen Vercaemst, Leuven, Belgium
  • Richard Paul, London, UK
  • Mateusz Puslecki, Posnan, Poland
  • Hans Seiler, Bayreuth, Germany