Following the formation of Euro-ELSO and success of their first meeting, a group of ECMO Directors in the Asia-Pacific region decided to form a comparable Chapter in the Far East and Oceania. A preliminary meeting took place in Melbourne, July 2012, hosted by Dr Vin Pellegrino from the Alfred Hospital, Melbourne, and Dr Steve Conrad, then the Chair of the main ELSO Steering Committee. Sixteen representatives from ECMO centers in the region attended. There was unanimous agreement about the value of establishing the Chapter. ELSO sent ballots to the Asia-Pacific ELSO Directors and the main Steering Committee was formed.

APELSO Steering Committee Members 2018

Yih-Sharng Chen (Taiwan)

Past Chair
Graeme MacLaren (Singapore)

Conference Committee Chair
Pranya Sakiyalak (Thailand)

Education Co-Chairs
Simon Sin Wai Ching (Hong Kong)
Peter Lai (Hong Kong)

Adrian C Mattke (Australia)
Eva Marwali (Indonesia)
Hwa Jin Cho (South Korea)
Jae-Seung Jung (South Korea)
Shay McGuinness (New Zealand)
Naoki Shimizu  (Japan)
Xiaotong Hou (China)
Chih-Hsien Wang (Taiwan)
Toshiyuki Aokage (Japan)
Yuji Fujino (Japan)

Non-voting members
Warwick Butt, FELSO (Treasurer)
Sharon Rankin (Secretariat) ​

Asia-Pacific ELSO Bylaws